Sunday, May 4, 2014

Welcome

Welcome to The Official Witte Home Page. Or maybe this is the Unofficial Witte Home Page? Who gets to decide that, anyway?

This all started out when I was doing some searches on the web for the name "Witte" (that's short i, long e). I was surprised how many hits I got and started keeping track of them. The next thing you know, this web page materialized. And, no, there is no real purpose for this page and it should not be confused with serious genealogy. Actually, this page should not be considered serious at all. 

Of course, being a highly-selective and sophisticated web page, we only link to the very best of the worldwide web (or something like that). Since the worldwide web is constantly changing, it is quite a chore to keep up with it and I am getting more selective as time goes on. My criteria for including links on this page is completely arbitrary and changes frequently.

This web page is meant for educational purposes only. Void where prohibited. Batteries not included. No other warranty expressed or implied. Do not use while operating a motor vehicle or heavy equipment. May be too intense for some readers.

Bob Witte
Click to Email Bob

Witte Information

Wikipedia

The Witte entry on Wikipedia  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Witte
    (this has a bunch of good information)

 

Organizations

The Witte Museum  - San Antonio's premier museum - http://www.wittemuseum.org

 

Businesses

The Witte Company - standard and custom process equipment    http://www.witte.com/
The Witte Brothers Exchange -transportation and trucking company  http://www.wittebros.com
Witte Travel and Tours - Grand Rapids, MI  http://www.wittetravel.com
Franz Witte nursery and landscaping - Boise, ID   http://www.franzwitte.com/
RJ Witte & Associates - Internet consulting and programming  http://www.rjwitte.com
The Witte Law Office (Norman C. Witte) in Lansing, MI http://www.wittelaw.com/attorneys.htm
Tom Witte - artist and animator (interesting, animated web site)  http://www.tomwitte.com
Witte Automotive - manufacturer of automotive parts in Germany http://www.witte-automotive.com/
Witte Tools - a tool company in Australia http://www.wittetools.com.au/
Witte Insurance - insurance agency in Fishers, IN  http://www.witteinsurance.com/
Witte Supply Company -  landscape and concrete supplies in Burlington, WI http://wittesupply.com/
Witte Stables - as in horses, Scottsdale, AZ http://www.wittestables.com/
Witte Lawn Maintenance - Michigan http://www.wittelawn.com/  
Witte's Barbeque and Steak House, La Vernia, TX  http://wittesbbq.com/
Witte's Vegetable Market - West Bend, WI  http://www.wittesvegmarket.com
Witte's Vegetable Farm - Cedarburg, WI  http://www.wittesvegfarm.com

Other Notable Witte Sites 

Count Witte - 1849-1915, Russian premier  http://www.encyclopedia.com/topic/Count_Sergei_Yulyevich_Witte.aspx
    Also:   http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sergei_Witte
      and http://russiapedia.rt.com/prominent-russians/politics-and-society/sergei-witte/
The Witte Engine - http://www.old-engine.com/witte.htm
    Also:  http://www.oldengine.org/members/cmsgma/2000show/Wittehistory.html
The Whetstone of Witte http://nsm1.nsm.iup.edu/gsstoudt/history/images/witte.html
Witte Residence Hall - University of Wisconsin http://www.housing.wisc.edu/witte/
The Witte Hardware Company (historical)  http://www.antique-padlocks.com/d_witte_hdw_co.htm
Photo of Witte Hardware in St Louis http://www.panoramio.com/photo/3899676

 

Interest Statistics on the Name Witte

Whitepages.com analysis of Witte as a last name  http://names.whitepages.com/last/Witte

 

People

Bob Witte  Author of  Where Does it Say That?, a book about Mormonism (definitely NOT me)
Brad Witte (Short i, Long e) you know, the famous one from Cambridge, Nebraska
Christopher Witte a student in Berlin
Carsten Witte  I'd tell you more about this site but it is in German which I cannot read :-(
                          Or click here for an English translation
Courtney Witte with the Philadelphia 76ers
David Witte  David Witte living in Fairfield, CA, originally from Oshkosh, WI.
David J. Witte  musician, entertainer
Edwin Witte  University of Wisconsin economist, father of the Social Security Act
Jason Witte artist, Seattle, Washington
Jerry Witte  baseball player, St. Louis Browns (1946)
Jenny Witte blogger at Huffington Post
Jessica Witte artist, spouse of the famous Brad Witte of Cambridge, Nebraska
Joe Witte  CNBC Meteorologist (wikipedia entry)  - The Official Witte Home Page Most-Televised Witte
JohnWitte instructor at University of Oregon
John Witte  from the Netherlands
Kicka Witte photographer
Kirt Witte photographer
Markus Witte   Markus Witte's home page [In German, I mean, Deutsch]
Michelle Witte freelance writer/editor 
Mike Witte  Mike and his family from Germany (some English on the web site)
Norman Witte Attorney in Lansing, MI
Nicole Witte - a model in the Netherlands (arguably the best looking Witte on the Internet)
Sarah Witte reference librarian at Columbia University

My Web Sites

My ham radio page http://www.k0nr.com  (Bob Witte)
My personal domain www.rwitte.com